Homeschooling Info


Friday, December 15, 2017

Homeschooling in Oregon

December 15, 2017 0

Is Homeschooling in Oregon Allowed?

The short Answer is A Big Yes..According to Oregon is fairly homeschool friendly. The public schools are required to allow homeschoolers who meet grade criteria to participate in extracurricular activities, including sports and cheerleading. An annual curriculum fair is held in Portland where families can be introduced to a variety of curricula. At the fair, homeschoolers often have the opportunity to meet a book’s author or a program’s developer. The state capitol, Salem, holds an annual “Homeschool Day” function where homeschoolers are welcome to take part in a variety of political activities

In 1985, the Oregon Legislature passed a law making home education regulations the same in every county. This law required notification and annual achievement testing for students, and gave every parent equal access to this education alternative. After reviewing 13 years of excellent test scores, the 1999 Oregon Legislature passed a law reducing the testing requirement to grades 3, 5, 8, and 10.

What is The Requirement To Homeschooling in Oregon?

Parents who choose to home school their children must register them at their local Education Service District (ESD) within 10 days of withdrawal from public or private school. 
Get the list of ESD in this link. ESD Home School Contacts Updated 8-16-17 

Get in touch with your ESD to register for Home School by using the provided links to your ESD's Home School web pages and contact emails. ESD Home School web pages also can provide valuable information in your Home Schooling experience.

Homeschooling Curriculum in Oregon

Academic content standards and curriculum goals have been developed by the Department of Education and are available on the department’s website. These content standards provide a framework for all content areas and are arranged as standards for grades 3, 5, 8, and 10. The department’s website address is Parents are not required to use the state content standards and may teach programs other than those taught in public school. A list of support groups and test publishers has been included in the appendix.

ESDs and local school districts are not required by law to provide educational materials or services for students who are being home schooled. Acquisition of these materials is the responsibility of the parent. However, some school districts may be able to provide materials on loan. A deposit may be charged. Various instructional materials and other resources are available on the Department of Education’s website.

How About Homeschool Testing in Oregon?

Curriculum and assignments are not provided by the State, however, testing is required at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10. 
Please visit the Common Core State Standards webpage which states the grade level expectations for what public school students are expected to be able to know and be able to do by graduation. Your local ESD, district or public school may also be able to provide additional resources to support your child. 

To be added to the approved home school tester list, please send a letter to this office indicating your desire to be added to the list. Include your contact information and the counties in which you would be willing to test. You also need to include evidence that you have met one of the following requirements:
  1. Holds a current personnel service license or teaching license from Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission; or
  2. Has been licensed by the Oregon Board of Psychologist Examiners; or
  3. Has met the publisher's qualifications for purchase, and has purchased at least one of the approved tests; or
  4. Provides evidence of satisfactory completion of a graduate course in which test administration and interpretation is included in the objective; or
  5. Has previously qualified as an Oregon home school tester, and has during the previous year administered at least one of the approved tests.

How much does homeschooling cost?

The median amount homeschoolers spend is $400 to $600 per student per year. This is considerably less than the cost to educate students in the public schools. Costs vary depending on the type of material used, whether books from older siblings are being used for younger ones, and how many supplemental materials and classes the student participates in. Libraries, the Internet, and the community provide many resources utilized by homeschool families.

Thats basic info about homeschooling in oregon that i've resumed for you. hopefully you get basic understanding about homeschooling in oregon. for another info, visit the sources website.


Read More

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Best Online Homeschool

December 09, 2017 1

What is Online Homeschool

Online Homeschool is one way doing homeschool which utilize internet to deliver and fulfill the instruction needed. Online homeschooling can make learning more accessible and engaging for students, giving them more control over what, how and when they learn. Online Homeschooling putting kids in touch with a world of information online  and it is “incredibly empowering,” but few schools capitalize on it. 

best online homeschool
best online homeschool

Difference of Online Homeschool with Online Public School

With homeschooling, the parent serves as the child’s teacher for all subjects. He or she plans all of the lessons, assignments, and tests. To monitor the student’s comprehension and academic achievement, the parent must also grade all student work.

At Online Public School homeschooler students work with certified teachers who are specially trained to engage students in online learning. They develop a personalized learning plan for each student. Online school teachersperiodically meet with students for real-time instruction in the virtual classroom. They also grade student assignments, evaluate comprehension, and provide ongoing feedback to students by telephone and email. These caring, experienced teachers are available to parents and to students to answer questions, and they may give extra one-on-one help when needed.

Accredited Online Homeschool Curriculum

Accreditation is a process in which school standards are evaluated by an accreditation agency. In the United States, this process is not completed by the federal government, but by states or private companies with varying rules and standards.
The unaccredited status of a school district should not have a negative impact on a student’s admission to a college or university. Because higher education institutions typically consider multiple sources of information. Students who graduate from an unaccredited school district should still be eligible for any scholarship for which they would otherwise qualify.

What is the format of the classes?

Online schools vary in format. Some are completely conducted on the computer, while others utilize workbooks, textbooks or other supplemental materials and/or require the parent or caregiver to present some or all of the lessons themselves.
  1. Video lessons: Many online schools offer lessons from real teachers delivered in a video format, usually followed by lessons that are submitted online and often graded immediately.
  2. Text-based lessons: Many schools offer lessons that involve reading a selection of text online prior to completing assignments. This can be a useful way for students to learn but can be difficult for others who struggle with reading comprehension or speed.
  3. Mixed format lessons: Many parents and educators think a mix of formats is best for optimal learning because it prevents students from becoming bored and allows for different types of information to be presented in optimal ways.
  4. Offline instruction with online supplementation: If your child is young, you may not have the option for video or text-based lessons. Most online schools do not offer these options for children prior to grade three because young children can’t read and don’t have the manual dexterity to use a mouse to navigate the computer. Most schools offer lessons that can be printed or presented in a video format with follow-up activities on paper.

How are students evaluated?

In a brick-and-mortar school, students must pass exams and evaluations in order to advance from grade to grade and to ultimately graduate from high school. Some online schools follow the same procedure, while others use other ways of evaluating students or do not evaluate students at all.
  1. Standardized testing: Many online schools, including online public schools and some online private schools, require the same standardized testing as brick-and-mortar schools. Often this is mandated by state law; other times, it is a way for an online school to meet accreditation requirements.
  2. Ongoing evaluations: Many online schools allow students to work at their own pace, completing coursework as they can and taking an assessment exam at the end of each module. This running evaluation allows for the most up-to-date tracking of your child’s progress.
  3. Transfer credits and testing out of courses: Many online schools allow students to transfer credits from other online schools or from brick-and-mortar schools, particularly in high school. Some programs also allow students the option to test out of required courses and still receive course credit.

Best Online Homeschool Curriculum

Acording to The List that made by one of homeschool site, there are top ten best online homeschool curriculum that can become your consideration:
  1. Whitmore School 
  2. Laurel Springs School
  3. K12
  4. Florida Virtual School
  5. The Keystone School
  6. Connections Academy
  7. Western Christian Academy
  8. K12 International Academy
  10. Time4Learning

Thats litle info about online home school. Get more info you need by contacting the provider. Hopefully this information is useful for you.


Read More

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Homeschooling in SC (South Carolina)

December 07, 2017 0

Is Homeschooling in SC (South Carolina) Allowed?

According to South Carolina homeschool laws, parents or guardians are permitted to homeschool in South Carolina. The homeschooler may register with: the local school district or an independent accountability association

South Carolina Homeschool Summary

If you are homeschooling in the state of South Carolina, you need to follow these steps:
  1. Get approval by the district board of trustees. For you to homeschool, you must prove to the board that you will follow the regulations given below.
  2. Have a GED or High School diploma. All parents must have a minimum of this requirement to homeschool their child/ren.
  3. School at least 180 days. The instructional requirement for a day is at least 4 ½ hours of study. 
  4. Include curriculum for reading, writing, math, science, and social studies. Note that grade 7-12 also need composition and literature. 
  5. Maintain records. These records must include a plan book or other record of subjects and activities taught, a portfolio of the child’s work, and a record of academic evaluations. This must be given as a semi-annual progress report and submitted to the school district.
  6. Take statewide testing. This testing will be on an annual basis and through the Basic Skills Assessment Program.
  7. Release the district from liability regarding your child’s education.

Homeschooling in South Carolina Requirement

The State Department of Education shall conduct annually a review of the association standards to insure that requirements of the association, at a minimum, include:

  1. a parent must hold at least a high school diploma or the equivalent general educational development (GED) certificate; If you don’t have either of the above but hold a higher-level degree, the usual understanding is that this requirement has been met.
  2. the instructional year is at least one hundred eighty days; If your child has been in a public or private school setting and you begin homeschooling mid-year, count previous days in the 180 day total. Also, the 180 days do not need to follow the normal public school calendar. You may school year-around, 3 months on/1 month off, 6 weeks on/1 week off, or whatever schedule best meets the needs of your family — as long as the total is 180 days per year.
  3. The curriculum includes, but is not limited to, the basic instructional areas of reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social studies, and in grades seven through twelve, composition and literature; This is usually understood to mean that after 6th grade, reading becomes literature and writing becomes composition. Some families just document these subjects as Reading/Literature, and Writing/Composition regardless of grade level, and in high school these subjects are covered as part of the normal English 1, English 2, etc. sequence.
  4. educational records shall be maintained by the parent-teacher and include:
    • a plan book, diary, or other record indicating subjects taught and activities in which the student and parent-teacher engage;  This can be daily or weekly or somewhere in between. Learning objectives can be planned in advance or written down after the learning is completed. See my Record-Keeping and Testing FAQs for more information to help you determine the best record-keeping method for your family. 
    • a portfolio of samples of the student’s academic work; and
    • You don’t need to keep a copy of everything your child does. Just include samples that represent your child’s work in the different subject areas. Some areas are a little more difficult to document than others, but it’s doable. See my Record-Keeping and Testing FAQsfor more information.
    •  a semiannual progress report including attendance records and individualized documentation of the student’s academic progress in each of the basic instructional areas specified in item (c) above.
    • This can be as simple as a report card, or it can be a non-graded summary of the topics studied and progress made in each of the subject areas. See my Record-Keeping and Testing FAQs for more information
By January thirtieth of each year, all associations shall report the number and grade level of children home schooled through the association to the children’s respective school districts.

Kindergarten and Compulsory Attendance Requirements

  • All parents or guardians shall cause their children or wards to attend regularly a public or private school or kindergarten of this State which has been approved by the State Board of Education or a member school of the South Carolina Independent Schools’ Association or some similar organization, or a parochial, denominational, or church-related school, or other programs which have been approved by the State Board of Education from the school year in which the child or ward is five years of age before September first until the child or ward attains his seventeenth birthday or graduates from high school.
  • A parent or guardian whose child or ward is not six years of age on or before the first day of September of a particular school year may elect for their child or ward not to attend kindergarten. For this purpose, the parent or guardian shall sign a written document making the election with the governing body of the school district in which the parent or guardian resides. The form of the written document must be prescribed by regulation of the Department of Education. Upon the written election being executed, that child or ward may not be required to attend kindergarten.
In other words: Your child must attend kindergarten somewhere (public, private, or homeschool) if s(he) turns 5 before September 1st of that school year. Parents may sign a waiver, however, excusing their child from kindergarten if the child does not turn 6 on or before September 1st of that school year. The waiver is a simple statement that releases the school district from any educational “deficiencies” that occur due to the absence of your child from kindergarten. If you sign the waiver, they must honor it. If you’re homeschooling only a kindergartener and complete the waiver, you do not have to register with a homeschool association for oversight. 
Many parents, however, choose oversight by a homeschool association for their kindergartener in order to avoid contact with their local school district. The compulsory attendance age in SC is 5 years old (or 6 years old with a kindergarten waiver) before September 1 until the child reaches 17 or graduates from high school.

Equal Access to Interscholastic Activities

Interscholastic activities includes, but is not limited to, athletics, music, speech, and other extracurricular activities.

Individual Governor’s school students and home school students may not be denied by a school district the opportunity to participate in interscholastic activities if the:
  1. student meets all school district eligibility requirements with the exception of the:  a) school district’s school or class attendance requirements; and class and enrollment requirements of the associations administering the interscholastic activities;
  2. student’s teacher, in the case of a Governor’s school student, certifies by submitting an affidavit to the school district that the student fully complies with the law and any attendance, class, or enrollment requirements for a Governor’s school. In addition, a charter school student’s teacher, in the same manner required by this subsection for a Governor’s school student, also must certify by affidavit to the student’s school district that the student fully complies with the law and any attendance, class, or enrollment requirements for a charter school in order for the student to participate in interscholastic activities in the manner permitted by Chapter 40 of this title;
  3. student participating in interscholastic activities: (a) resides within the attendance boundaries of the school for which the student participates; or (b) in the case of a Governor’s school student, resides or attends a Governor’s school within the attendance boundaries of the school for which the student participates; and
  4. student notifies the superintendent of the school district in writing of his intent to participate in the interscholastic activity as a representative of the school before the beginning date of the season for the activity in which he wishes to participate.

A public school student who has been unable to maintain academic eligibility is ineligible to participate in interscholastic activities as a charter school student, Governor’s school student, or home school student for the following semester. To establish eligibility for subsequent school years, the student’s teacher shall certify by submitting an affidavit to the school district that the student meets the relevant policies of the school at which the student wishes to participate.

A Governor’s school student or home school student is required to fulfill the same responsibilities and standards of behavior and performance, including related practice requirements, of other students participating in the interscholastic activities of the team or squad and is required to meet the same standards for acceptance on the team or squad.

A Governor’s school may not be denied by a school district the opportunity to have a team representing the school participate in interscholastic activities if the team meets the same eligibility requirements of other teams. An individual Governor’s school student may not participate in an interscholastic activity of a public school district if the school that the student is enrolled in has a team or squad participating in that interscholastic activity.

A school district may not contract with a private entity that supervises interscholastic activities if the private entity prohibits the participation of charter school students, Governor’s school students, or home school students in interscholastic activities.

thats the information that we can gather about homeschooling in south carolina. hopefully this information is useful for you. for further information, visit the source page.

Read More

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Homeschooling in AZ (Arizona)

December 05, 2017 0

Homeschooling in Arizona Background Info

Arizona has some of the most homeschool-friendly education regulations of any state in America. The state has no requirements for school accreditation, no requirements for licensing, no requirements for teacher certification; no requirements for approval, and testing of homeschooled children is not required during the time the student is receiving homeschool instruction

However, it is important to remember that home schooling is under the jurisdiction of each Arizona County for each homeschool within its borders, so requirements may vary somewhat from county-to-county. (NOTE: According to A.R.S. §15-802, enrollment in and attendance at a public charter school or virtual academy is not considered to be “homeschooling” in Arizona.)

Definition Homeschooling in Arizona

Arizona defines “home education” as the parent-taught, family financed, education of a child at home. According to Arizona education law, “homeschoolers are parents or legal guardians who choose to educate their own children at home in at least the required subjects of reading, grammar, math, science and social studies.” (A.R.S. §15-802)

Arizona Revised Statutes §15.802.G.2-3 defines “homeschool” as a “nonpublic school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or other person who has custody of the child, or nonpublic instruction provided in the child’s home.” The same regulation identifies a “private school” as a “nonpublic institution, other than the child’s home, where academic instruction is provided for at least the same number of days and hours each year as a public school.” (NOTE: Arizona public school attendance is required for at least 180 days each year. However, the compulsory attendance requirement does not apply to homeschools.)

Homeschooling in Arizona Steps Summary:

“home school” means a school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or other person who has custody of the child or instruction provided in the child’s home.If you are homeschooling in the state of Arizona, you will need to follow these steps:
  1. File a notarized affidavit. The parent or guardian must file a notarized affidavit of intent to operate a homeschool program with the county school superintendent within 30 days after homeschooling begins. It must include the child’s name; date of birth; current address; and the names, telephone numbers, and addresses of the persons who currently have custody of the child.
  2. Give proof of child’s identity. The parent or guardian must also provide the county school superintendent either a “certified copy of the child’s birth certificate” or “other reliable proof of the child’s identity and age with an affidavit explaining the inability to provide a copy of the birth certificate.”

Currently the Arizona Homeschooling law requires that:

  • Every child between the ages of six and sixteen years shall be provided instruction in at least the subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science.
  • The person who has custody of the child shall choose a public, private or home school to provide instruction.
  • An affidavit of intent shall be filed within thirty days from the time the child begins to attend a home school and is not required thereafter unless the home school instruction is terminated and then resumed. The person who has custody of the child shall notify the county school superintendent within thirty days of the termination that the child is no longer being instructed at a home school.

Read More

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Online School Program

December 03, 2017 0

What is Online School Program

Online public schools are just like traditional schools in the sense that they:
  • Do not charge tuition*
  • Serve students in grades kindergarten through twelve.
  • Use state-certified or -licensed teachers.
  • Follow state requirements for standards and assessments.
  • Result in a high school diploma upon completion.

How is online school?

Depending on the course, students may need to listen to or read lectures every day or just once or twice a week. Just like in any other class, students should be taking notes as they go. Completing Assignments. Some assignments for class may need to be completed online.

Is it easy to have online school?

Online classes are no easier than classes offered in the traditional classroom setting and in some cases can be even be more difficult. There are several reasons for this. Online courses require more self-motivation. It can be hard for some students to stay motivated when they'd rather be doing something else.

Are online schools accredited?

Yes. There are many online school program that accredited by agencies that recognized by the Department of Education, and they have an average annual tuition of just $22,528.
The most recognized and accepted type of accreditation in the United States is regional accreditation. Generally, college credits or degrees received at a regionally accredited institution are accepted by other regionally accredited colleges or universities (non-regionally accredited programs are not as accepted).

How long does it take for online school?

How long does it take to complete a course? Students taking individualized study course are given six months to complete three- and four-credit course and twelve months to complete six-credit courses. All assignments, quizzes and exams are required to be completed within the course contract time.

The length of online classes vary. Some can be completed in as little as five weeks, while others don't have to be finished within a year's time. On average, online courses last eight to nine weeks, especially those offered through universities.

How can I finish high school online?

Once you've found an accredited program, you can choose to earn credits as you see fit, based on your needs. You may choose courses that are in line with your postsecondary goals, or you may need to complete prerequisites to gain admittance to a program or to earn your diploma.

Is there a free online school?

Connections Academy is a tuition-free online public school for grades K–12. In this virtual classroom, students can spend the school year reaching their highest potential through a uniquely individualized learning program.

Are online degrees cheaper?

Colleges and universities that offer online degree programs typically will be cheaper than going to a traditional brick-and-mortar university for a variety of reasons. For many schools that solely specialize in offering online degrees, they have fewer expenses to incur.

The Ten Best Online Colleges:

  1. Penn State World Campus.
  2. University of Florida Distance Learning.
  3. UMass Online.
  4. Boston University.
  5. Northeastern University.
  6. Indiana University.
  7. Arizona State University.
  8. University of Minnesota–Twin Cities.

Read More

Friday, December 1, 2017

Homeschooling In Pennsylvania

December 01, 2017 1

Is Homeschooling in Pennsylvania Allowed?

Based on Parents in Pennsylvania can teach their children at home. Pennsylvania's law on home education (also called “homeschooling”) is called Act 169. In Pennsylvania, children between the ages of eight and seventeen must attend school. Educating a child at home is one way to comply with compulsory school attendance laws.

What is The Requirement Of Homeschooling In Pennsylvania?

A. Homeschooling in Pennsylvania Requirement of The Tutor 

  1. Must have a Pennsylvania teacher's certificate; 
  2. Must be teaching “one or more children who are members of a single family;” 
  3. Must be providing the child or children with the majority of their instruction; and 
  4. Must be receiving some form of payment for his or her services 
A tutor have to report his or her Pennsylvania Certificate of Teaching and do let the the superintendent of the students district of residence to do some criminal background check to them. The superintendent of the district must give annual approval to the private tutoring process. 

The tutor should made a program that meet at least 180 days of prgram or at least 900 hours of teaching (or 990 hours at secondary level). If the tutoring program can meet these requirement, than homeschooling process can continued.

B. Homeschooling in Pennsylvania Requirement of Home Education Program

1. The affidavit

Before beginning the home education program, the supervisor of the child’s program must file sworn statement - known as an “affidavit” - with the superintendent of the school district of residence. The supervisor must also file an affidavit by August 1st. every year after the program has begun. 
  • The affidavit must contain the supervisor’s name, the name and age of each participating child, and the address and phone number of the home education program site.
  • The affidavit must also state that the required subjects will be taught and must contain an outline of proposed educational objectives.
  • The supervisor must supply evidence that the child has had the legally required immunizations. The supervisor must also provide evidence that the child has received the required health and medical services (such as annual vision and hearing tests

2. Instructional Process

At the elementary level, the English (including spelling, reading and writing) must be taught to children; arithmetic; science; geography; the history of the United States and Pennsylvania in particular; civics and safety education (including fire prevention knowledge); health; physical education; music and art program must be given to the home students.

At the secondary level, the child must receive English (including language, literature, speech and composition); science; geography; social studies (including civics, world history, history of the United States and Pennsylvania); mathematics (including algebra and geometry); art; music; physical education; health; and safety education.
Upon a supervisor’s request, the school district of residence must lend the supervisor copies of the school district’s textbooks and other curriculum materials. 

3. Student Portfolio of Records and Materials

The supervisor must keep a record of the child’s education program, including a log showing the reading materials used, and samples of any writings, worksheets, etc. At grade levels 3, 5, and 8, students must be given standardized tests in reading/language arts and mathematics by someone other than the parent. Pennsylvania Department of Education has identified a list of acceptable standardized tests that known as Basic Education Circular (BEC). The results of these tests must be kept in the child’s portfolio.

4. Annual Written Evaluation

There must also be an annual written evaluation of the child’s education progress. Including a review of the material in the child’s program report by a licensed psychologist, a certified teacher or a qualified private school teacher. This information then have to reported to the superintendent by June 30th of each school year, or upon request. Based on the report if the superintendent believes that the child is not being properly educated, he or she may ask for additional documentation or not allow the program to continue. Parent can challenge a school district’s decision to discontinue a home education program at a hearing in front of an impartial hearing examiner appointed by the school board and then, if necessary, in state court. 

Yes. A student in a home education program may participate in certain school activities in the school district where the child lives. These extra-curricular activities, referred to as Section 511 activities, may include sports, band, and clubs. You should contact your local school district for information about what program are Section 511 activities and open to home education students.
School districts do not issue diplomas to students who complete home education programs. However, there are several ways for a child who is homeschooled to receive a diploma:

  • A student can fulfill the requirements to receive a diploma from a homeschooling organization. The Pennsylvania Department of Education has approved several homeschooling organizations to issue homeschooling diplomas. Pennsylvania Homeschoolers Accreditation Agency (PHAA) is an example of one such organization. (More information about PHAA can be found at;
  • A student can successfully complete the GED test and receive a Commonwealth Secondary Diploma; or
  • A student can successfully complete one year or 30 semester hours at an accredited postsecondary institution and submit that information to the PA Department of Education and receive a Commonwealth Secondary Diploma.

Parents can choose to re-enroll their child at any time (as long as the child hasn’t graduated from high school or turned 21). A question often arises about what grade the child should be in. No rule requires public schools to place the child in the grade the parent requests. However, schools cannot make arbitrary placement decisions. To help determine an appropriate placement, parents can provide the school with copies of coursework the child completed during the time he/she was homeschooled. The school can also use objective testing measures to determine the appropriate grade and/or courses for the child.

Homeschooling is NOT the same as homebound instruction or instruction in the home.

  • Homeschooling is a home education program developed and provided by a child’s parent and/or guardian. A child who is homeschooled is NOT enrolled in the school district. 
  • Homebound instruction is instruction the school district provides to an enrolled student who cannot attend school for a short period of time due to a medical problem (such as a broken leg).
  • Instruction in the home is provided by a school district to a student with a disability who needs special education services and who is enrolled in the district. It is provided when the student requires services that cannot be provided appropriately to the student in a school setting. Instruction in the home is restricted to students whose needs require full-time special education services and programs outside the school setting for the entire school day. 

Sources :
Sources Picture :

Read More